Welcome to the ScienceCampus

Mission

The Leibniz ScienceCampus “Empirical Linguistics & Computational Language Modeling” aims to conduct innovative research to support the high-quality automatic annotation of large-scale corpus resources of German language through induction of domain-, genre- and variety-adaptive natural language processing models, to enable advanced empirical research in linguistics as well as innovative applications in the humanities and the social sciences.

Research

Central research themes are the corpus-based acquisition of linguistic, especially distributional semantic models, the interfacing of corpora with linguistic and knowledge ontologies and the corpus- and computational linguistic analysis of genre effects in grammar and lexicon research. As a distinguishing feature the Leibniz ScienceCampus will focus on German language, which is considerably understudied in relation to English. The computational modeling will take advantage of weak supervision and unsupervised learning techniques. Expected results include improved large-scale annotated corpus resources of contemporary German, enhanced with novel semantic annotation layers, and advanced NLP models and resources for the analysis of German corpora from different genres and domains.

Interdisciplinary aspects

The close cooperation between linguists and computational linguists in the ScienceCampus is designed to foster novel research methods in empirical linguistics. Through improved genre- and domain-adaptive computational models it will be possible to address a wide range of applications in Digital Humanities and Language Technology. The Leibniz ScienceCampus will explore novel research questions in this area through collaborative interdisciplinary incubator projects in empirical linguistics and Digital Humanties.

Cooperation partners

The Leibniz ScienceCampus “Empirical Linguistics & Computational Language Modeling” is a novel cooperation project between the Institute for German Language (IDS) Mannheim and the Institute of Computational Linguistics of Heidelberg University. The ScienceCampus includes cooperation partners from linguistics and computer science from Heidelberg University and the University of Mannheim, as well as computational linguists from the Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies.

Willkommen beim WissenschaftsCampus

Ziele

Der Leibniz-WissenschaftsCampus „Empirical Linguistics and Computational Language Modeling“ hat zum Ziel, auf Basis umfangreicher Sprachressourcen des Deutschen automatische Sprachanalyse für vielfältige Domänen, Genres und Sprachvarietäten in hoher Qualität nutzbar zu machen, und somit eine Grundlage zu schaffen für neue Methoden empirischer Forschung in der Sprachwissenschaft und den sog. „digitalen Geisteswissenschaften“. Im Fokus des WissenschaftsCampus steht die Kombination korpus- und computerlinguistischer Expertise und Methoden, sowie die Anwendung korpuslinguistischer und computerlinguistischer Sprachmodellierung in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften, den „Digital Humanities“.

Forschungsthemen

Zentrale Forschungsthemen des Leibniz-WissenschaftsCampus sind die korpusbasierte Induktion linguistischer, insbesondere semantischer Sprachmodelle, die Verknüpfung von Textkorpora mit linguistischen Ontologien und Wissenbasen und die korpus- und computerlinguistische Analyse von Sprache unterschiedlicher Genres und Varietäten. Ein herausragendes Merkmal des WissenschaftsCampus ist der Fokus auf deutsche Sprache. Die computationelle Modellierung setzt bevorzugt auf schwach überwachte und unüberwachte Lernmethoden. Erwartete Forschungsresultate sind umfangreiche und in hoher Qualität automatisch annotierte Sprachkorpora der deutschen Gegenwartssprache, angereichert mit semantischer Annotation, sowie leistungsstarke Sprachverarbeitungsmodelle für die Verarbeitung deutscher Sprachkorpora unterschiedlicher Genres und Domänen.

Interdisziplinäre Aspekte

Die enge Zusammenarbeit von Linguisten und Korpuslinguisten im WissenschaftsCampus bietet ideale Voraussetzungen für die Entwicklung neuer Forschungsmethoden in der empirischen Linguistik. Durch verbesserte genre- und domänen-adaptive Sprachmodelle kann eine große Spannbreite an Forschungsfragen in den Digitalen Geisteswissenschaften und der Sprachtechnologie behandelt werden. Der Leibniz-WissenschaftsCampus wird neue Forschungsfragen in dieser Art durch interdisziplinäre Inkubatorprojekte in empirischer Linguistik und den „Digital Humanities“ erforschen.

Kooperationspartner

Der Leibniz-WissenschaftsCampus „Empirical Linguistics & Computational Language Modeling“ ist ein neues Kooperationsprojekt zwischen dem Institut für Deutsche Sprache (IDS) Mannheim und dem Institut für Computerlinguistik der Universität Heidelberg. Der WissenschaftsCampus arbeitet zusammen mit Kooperationspartnern aus Linguistik und Informatik an den Universitäten Heidelberg und Mannheim, sowie mit Computerlinguisten des Heidelberger Instituts für Theoretische Studien, HITS.